

Wellington Multiple Sclerosis Society 59th AGM - Minutes

Date: 20 May 2023 Time: 10.30 am Venue: Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club, 11 Logan Street, Ebdentown, Upper Hutt

The meeting was opened with a Karakia led by Lacey Reedy.

1. Attendees and Apologies:

Attendees

Committee and staff:

Heather Davy (President), Ross Judge (Treasurer), Steve McCloskey, Alarna Sharratt, Jo Dean (Lead Community Advisor), Lacey Reedy (Community Advisor), Suzanne Linton (Communications and Fundraiser)

Members:

Paul Gruschow Jenny Hargreaves Georgia Lenihan-Geels Sue Kenny Nicky Louis Shannon Louis Alex Mundy Peter North Susan Palmer Tessa Peck Murray Ruddell Ruth Tomlinson Glen Sullivan Jenny Simpson Paul Satherley

Apologies

Committee:

Chelsea Quinn (Secretary)

Members:

Tony Barnes Val and Steve Barnes Amanda Bennett Gayle Crozier Shona and Eric Daubé Cheryll Gadsby Maxine Harland Mike & Janet Haylock Olive Hebron Jan Henning Alan Kemp Chelsea Quinn Dr Katharina Robichon Veronica Ryan Annie Ward Laura & James DempseyThomas HornerWendy WallbankPam EnglertMerv and Kaye KeighleyLinsay WatsonJocelyn FagerstromKeighleyLinsay Watson

2. One-minute silence for departed members

Members and guests observed a minute of silence for members who passed away during the previous year.

3. Minutes of 2022/58th AGM and any matters arising

No amendments or matters arising.

Moved: Steve McCloskey Seconded: Murray Ruddell

4. Annual Report

Heather presented the Society's Annual Report, printed copies of which were distributed to attendees.

She drew attention to some of the highlights of the past year, acknowledging all our members, supporters, funders, staff and volunteers who have worked to achieve the Society's mission to enable people with MS to live their best lives.

She reported that there were big changes for the charities sector that would impact our Society. Information is on the Charities Services website.

Heather also updated members on the work of the Operations team – Jo Dean, Lacey Reedy and Suzie Linton.

The full text of the Annual Report is provided separately.

5. Treasurer's Report

Ross presented his report, printed copies of which were distributed to attendees.

The Treasurer's Report is provided separately.

6. Community Advisors' Report

This item was covered by Heather in her Annual Report.

7. Andy Woodside Memorial Award

This memorial award is awarded annually to a member of the Society who has made a notable contribution to the Society's mission to enable people with MS to live their best lives.

Heather reported that the Committee recommended that this year's award be presented to Glen Sullivan, who has been actively fundraising for WMS with his team of Cosplayers and Cosvehicles, at events such as Spring into Tawa.

The recommendation was warmly endorsed by members present and the award was duly presented by Heather.

8. Confirmation of Committee members, Lawyers, Accountants and Auditors

Committee Members

There were no objections to the current committee members remaining on the Committee; all had confirmed their willingness to stand and were duly re-elected by members present.

Jenny Simpson thanked the President and Committee for their work throughout the year.

Lawyers Carter Chung Law

Accountants

Brunton Cropp and Co Ltd (replacing Bennett Currie)

<u>Auditors</u>

Dent and Heath

Following the tabled Agenda, our Patron, Professor Anne La Flamme, and her colleagues, Tessa Peck and Georgia Lenihan-Geels, gave a talk on the research into new treatment avenues, particularly on the possibility of 're-igniting' the immune response and repairing damage through re-myelination. Tessa spoke about her work looking into why immune cells invade the central nervous system and how to allow non-inflammatory cells to get through whilst blocking others. Georgia is focusing on researching progressive MS, as current treatments work best for relapsing-remitting MS because they target cells outside the central nervous system.

The meeting closed at 11:35am.

The next AGM will be at 10:30am on 18 May 2024 at the Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club.